Belmont Park
2150 Hempstead Turnpike
Elmont, New York, 11003


Date: June 06, 09
Purse: $300,000
Grade: I
Type: T
Distance: 8 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Old
Sex: Fillies
Turf: Dirt

The Acorn Stakes celebrated itâs seventy seventh year in June 2008 at the historic Belmont Park. A voice was raised to include this Grade 1 stakes for three-year-olds fillies in the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing because of itâs growing popularity. But the Alabama Stakes took itâs place in that series. The race is open to three year old fillies capable of covering eight furlongs. The grade I Acorn Stakes carries a purse of $300,000. Finder\\\\\\\'s Fee won the Acorn Stakes in 2000, Forest Secrets in 2001, You in 2002, Bird Town in 2003, Island Sand in 2004, Round Pond in 2005, Bushfire in 2006 and Cotton Blossom in 2007. Notable performance: Top Flight won in 1932, Twilight Tear in 1944, Gallorette in 1945, Bowl of Flowers in 1961, Cicada in 1962, Shuvee in 1969, Susan\\\\\\\'s Girl in 1972, Chris Evert in 1974, Ruffian in 1975, Davona Dale in 1979, Sky Beauty in 1993.

Acorn Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Zaftig Jimmy Jerkens John Velazquez Susan Moore/M and M Thoroughbred
2007 Cotton Blossom Todd A. Pletcher John Velazquez Dogwood Stable 1:34.70
2006 Bushfire Eddie Kenneally Alex Solis Ron & Ricki Rashinski 1:35.89
2005 Round Pond John Servis Stewart Elliott Fox Hill Farms, Inc. 1:35.20
2004 Island Sand J. Larry Jones Terry Thompson James Osbrone 1:34.80
2003 Bird Town Nick Zito Edgar Prado Marylou Whitney Stable 1:35.20
2002 You Edward Plesa Jr Jerry Bailey Barry K. Schwartz 1:36.00
2001 Forest Secrets John Ward, Jr. Chris McCarron Debby Oxley 1:34.80
2000 Finder's Fee C. R. McGaughey III John Velazquez Ogden Phipps 1:37.20
1999 Three Ring Edward Plesa Jr Jerry Bailey Barry K. Schwartz 1:36.00
Click here for more Acorn Stakes Winners
Acorn Stakes Video

2008 Acorn Stakes - Zaftig