Hawthorne Racecourse
3501 S. Laramie
Stickney/Cicero, Illinois, 60804


Date: September 27, 08
Purse: $500,000
Grade: II
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/4 Miles
Age: 3 Year Olds and Up
Turf: dirt

The Hawthorne Gold Cup Handicap is an American grade II thoroughbred horseracing meet that is run annually at Hawthorne Race Course, Illinois. This is run for horses with an age three and up willing to run one and quarter miles on the left handed dirt track. The race was inaugurated in 1928 but was suspended during the World War II.

Hawthorne Gold Cup Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2007 Student Council 5 Steven M. Asmussen Richard Migliore Millennium Farms 2:05.00
2006 It's No Joke Rebecca Maker Eddie Razo, Jr. Stan Fulton
2005 Super Frolic Vladimir Cerin Victor Espinoza Millennium Farms
2004 Freefourinternet Michael Maker Greta Kuntzweiler Equirace.com
2003 Perfect Drift Murray Johnson Pat Day Stonecrest Farm
2002 Hail The Chief Niall O'Callaghan Jorge Chavez Peter M. Crane
2001 Duckhorn Patrick Byrne Randall Meier Michael Tabor
2000 Dust On The Bottle Glenn Hild Tim Doocy Sharon Hild
1999 Supreme Sound Michael W. Dickinson Randall Meier P. Harris
1998 Awesome Again Patrick B. Byrne Pat Day Stronach Stables
Click here for more Hawthorne Gold Cup Handicap Winners