Arlington Park
2200 W. Euclid
Arlington Heights, Illinois, 60006


Date: July 12, 08
Purse: $250,000
Grade: II
Type: T
Distance: 1 3/16 Miles
Age: 3 Year Old
Turf: turf

Grade II thoroughbred horseracing meet â âThe American Derbyâ takes place annually at Arlington Park, Chicago. It is open for three-year-old horses capable of running 1 3/16 miles on the turf. This racing meet was started in 1884 at Washington Park and earned popularity within a few years. The race suffered for a number of years and was revived in 1926 to become one of the most important racing events in the country. Record makers: Eddie Arcaro won five times while Isaac Burns Murphy clinched victory for four times in American Derby. The hall of fame jockey George Woolf won the race for three consecutive sessions from 1942 to 1944. Horace A. Jones, Ben A. Jones and Dermot K. Weld got winning titles as trainers for three times each. Calumet Farm made an unflinching record of winning seven times as an owner followed by E.J. âLuckyâ Baldwin, who captured titles in four sessions.

American Derby Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Tizdejavu Greg Fox Rene Douglas Cooper/Ziebarth 1:59.88
2007 Lattice William I. Mott Robby Albarado Clairborne Farm 1:54.85
2006 Union Avenue Bill Mott Larry Melancon WinStar Farm 1:57.20
2005 Gun Salute Bill Mott Cornelio Velasquez Brant M. Laue 1:55.31
2004 Simple Exchange Dermot K. Weld Pat Smullen Moyglare Stud 1:54.93
2003 Evolving Tactics Dermot K. Weld Pat Smullen Moyglare Stud 1:59.04
2002 Mananan McLir Wallace Dollase Rene Douglas M. Jarvis, G. Margolis, et al 1:57.11
2001 Fan Club's Mister Rickey B. Harris Randy Meier P. Miessler & C. Raber 2:03.27
2000 Pine Dance Dermot K. Weld Eddie Ahern Highland Farms et al 1:55.46
1998-99 No Race
Click here for more American Derby Winners