Arlington Park
2200 W. Euclid
Arlington Heights, Illinois, 60006


Date: July 12, 08
Purse: $200,000
Grade: III
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/4 miles
Age: 3 Years Old and Up
Turf: turf

The Arlington Handicap is a thoroughbred horseracing meet that has been taking place since 1929 at the historic Arlington Park racetrack in Chicago, Illinois. This is a grade III event for three year olds and up horses capable of running one and one fourth miles on the turf. Misstep won the inaugural racing meet in 1929. In 1975, it was Royal Giant who set a track record for the Arlington Handicap in the 1 3/16 miles category and the 1992 winner Sky Classic registered a stakes record for the current distance of 1-Â miles.

Arlington Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Stream Cat 5 Rusty Arnold James Graham Fab Oak Stable/Hurley/Goldthorpe 2:04.83
2007 Cosmonaut 5 Patrick Biancone Julien Leparoux Flying Zee Stable 2:01.32
2006 Cosmonaut 4 Patrick Biancone Julien Leparoux Flying Zee Stable 2:03.10
2005 Cool Conductor 4 Ralph Nicks Cornelio Velasquez David E. Garner 2.02.26
2004 Senor Swinger 4 Bob Baffert Brice Blanc Robert & Beverly Lewis 2:03.38
2003 Honor in War 4 Paul McGee David Flores Turn Stable LLC 2:02.71
2002 Falcon Flight 6 Donald Burke, Jr. Rene R. Douglas G. Tanata 2:03.13
2001 Make No Mistake 6 Burke Kessinger, Jr. Robby Albarado Bruce Barton & Alvin D. Haynes 2:02.53
2000 Northern Quest 5 Robert J. Frankel Robby Albarado Plus U Stables 2:02.13
1992 Sky Classic
Click here for more Arlington Handicap Winners