Belmont Park
2150 Hempstead Turnpike
Elmont, New York, 11003


Date: June 28, 08
Purse: 250,000
Grade: I
Type: T
Distance: 9 furlong
Age: 3 Year Old
Sex: Fillies
Turf: dirt

The Mother Goose Stakes is an American horseracing event that is raced each year at a distance of nine furlongs on the dirt track of Belmont Park racetrack. This grade I race is open to thoroughbred fillies with age group three. This race is considered as the first leg of the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing. Since the inauguration in 1957, the Mother Goose was raced in different distances but the present format was granted in 1959. The name of the race is for H. P. Whitneyâs filly Mother Goose, one of the lucky thirteen fillies to register wins in the male dominated Belmont Futurity Stakes. The Mother Goose Stakes was organized at Aqueduct Racetrack from 1963 to 1967, in 1969 and in 1975.

Mother Goose Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Music Note Saaed bin Suroor Javier Castellano Godolphin 1:49.75
2007 Octave Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Starlight St / D. J. Lucarelli 1:47.19
2006 Bushfire Eddie Kenneally Edgar Prado Ron & Ricki Rashinski 1:49.86
2005 Smuggler Shug McGaughey Edgar Prado Phipps Stable 1:48.40
2004 Stellar Jayne D. Wayne Lukas Robby Albarado Spendthrift Farm 1:48.00
2003 Spoken Fur Robert J. Frankel Jerry D. Bailey Amerman Racing Stable 1:50.40
2002 Nonsuch Bay Frank Alexander Jerry D. Bailey Joseph P. Platt, Jr. 1:49.00
2001 Fleet Renee Michael W. Dickinson John R. Velazquez Verne Winchell 1:47.00
2000 Secret Status Neil J. Howard Pat Day W. Farish & J. Elkins 1:48.00
1999 Dreams Gallore Steven Asmussen Robby Albarado Gary A. Tanaka 1:48.60
Click here for more Mother Goose Stakes Winners
Mother Goose Stakes Video

2008 Mother Goose Stakes - Music Note