4201 Versailles Road P.O. Box 1690
Lexington, Kentucky, 40502


Date: October 08, 11
Purse: $500,000
Grade: 2
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 6 Furlongs Sprint
Age: Three Year Olds & Up
Turf: Turf

The Nearctic Stakes is a popular Canadian Thoroughbred horse-racing event that is run each year during the end of October at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto, Canada. This grade II horse-racing sprint event is open to horses with age three years olds and up and is raced on the turf track of the historic Keeneland racecourse. At present, the Nearctic Stakes carries a purse of $500,000 â it has been decided that the winner of this horse-racing event will automatically be included into the 2008 Breedersâ Cup Turf Sprint. The race was run for the first time in 1973 in order to pay tribute to the Windfieldâs Farms champion Nearctic, the 1958 Canadian Horse of the Year, Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame inductee and sire of the 20th Centuryâs most important sire, Northern Dancer.

Nearctic Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2010 Serious Attitude 4 Rae Guest Garrett Gomez Rae Guest 1:09.1
2009 Field Commission 4 Daniel J. Vella Julien Leparoux E. Selzer & D. J. Vella 1:09.23
2008 True to Tradition 6 Scott A. Lake Kendrick Carmouche Ben Mondello/Adam Russo 1:09.11
2007 Heros Reward 5 Dale Capuano Javier Castellano Rob Ry Farm & J M Slysz 1:08.04
2006 Fast Parade 3 Peter Miller Patrick Valenzuela Gary & Cecil Barber 1:12.41
2005 Steel Light 4 Christophe Clement Corey Nakatani Moyglare Stud 1:12.14
2004 I Thee Wed 4 David R. Bell Jim McAleney Pin Oak Stable 1:09.36
2003 Soaring Free 4 Mark Frostad Todd Kabel Sam-Son Farm 1:07.73
2002 Nuclear Debate 7 Darrell Vienna David R. Flores Herrick Racing 1:07.86
2001 Mr. Epperson 6 Scott H. Fairlie James McKnight R & S. Fairlie et al. 1:08.86
Click here for more Nearctic Stakes Winners