Saratoga Race Course
Crescent Avenue
Saratoga Springs, New York, 12866


Date: August 06, 11
Purse: $750,000
Grade: 1
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/8 Miles
Age: Three Year Olds and Up
Sex: Both

The grade I thoroughbred Whitney Handicap is a popular annual horseracing event at Saratoga Race Course. This race is open for three year olds and up horses capable of crossing one and one eighth miles. Due to Second World War, the race was shifted to Belmont Park. The age limit of the racing event was raised to four between 1957 and 1969. William R. Coeâs filly Black Maria snatched the winning title in the inaugural race that took place in 1928.

Whitney Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Tizway 6 H. James Bond Rajiv Maragh William L. Clifton, Jr. 1:52.43
2010 Blame 4 Albert M. Stall Jr. Garrett Gomez Adele B. Dilschneider 1:48.88
2009 Bullsbay 5 H. Graham Motion Jeremy Rose Mitchell Ranch LLC 1:48.12
2008 Commentator 7 Nick Zito John Velazquez Tracy Farmer 1:50.23
2007 Lawyer Ron 4 Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Hines Racing LLC 1:46.64
2006 Invasor 4 Kiaran McLaughlin Fernando Jara Shadwell Racing 1:49.06
2005 Commentator 4 Nick Zito Gary Stevens Tracy Farmer 1:48.33
2004 Roses in May 4 Dale L. Romans Edgar Prado Ken & Sarah Ramsey 1:48.54
2003 Medaglia d\'Oro 4 Robert J. Frankel Jerry Bailey Edmund A. Gann 1:47.69
2002 Left Bank 5 Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Michael B. Tabor 1:47:04
Click here for more Whitney Handicap Winners