Churchill Downs Racetrack
700 Central Avenue
Louisville, Kentucky, 40208


Date: May 01, 10
Purse: $500,000
Grade: I
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/8 Mile
Age: 3 Year Olds and Up
Sex: Open
Turf: Turf

The Woodford Reserve Turf Classic Stakes is an American thoroughbred horseracing event that is run annually at a distance of nine furlongs on the turf track of Churchill Down racetracks. This grade 1 racing meet is open to colts and geldings with age three year olds and up and carries purse of $500,000.

Woodford Reserve Turf Classic Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Einstein Helen Pitts Robby Albarado P. Cunningham/M. Greene 1:50.50
2007 Sky Conqueror Darwin D. Banach Javier Castellano William A. Sorokolit, Sr. 1:49.01
2006 English Challenge Todd A. Pletcher Garrett Gomez James T. Scatuorchio 1:47.15
2005 America Alive Neil J. Howard Robby Albarado Mill House Stable 1:47.34
2004 Stroll William I. Mott Jerry D. Bailey Claiborne Farm 1:53.00
2003 Honor in War Paul McGee David R. Flores 3rd Turn Stables 1:46.67
2002 Beat Hollow Robert J. Frankel Alex Solis Juddmonte Farm 1:47.35
2001 White Hart Neil Drysdale Gary L. Stevens Gainsborough Farms 1:48.75
2000 Manndar C. Beau Greely Corey Nakatani Columbine Stable et al 1:47.91
1999 Wild Event Lou M. Goldfine Shane Sellers Arthur I Appleton 1:47.25
Click here for more Woodford Reserve Turf Classic Stakes Winners