Saratoga Race Course
Crescent Avenue
Saratoga Springs, New York, 12866


Date: July 28, 08
Purse: 150,000
Grade: 2
Type: T
Distance: 6.5F
Age: Three Year Olds and Up
Sex: Male
Turf: dirt

The grade II thoroughbred Amsterdam Stakes is a popular racing event at Saratoga Race Course. It is open to horses age three and up willing sprinting for six and half furlongs on the dirt. Before 1998, the race was called the Screen King.

Amsterdam Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Kodiac Kowboy Larry Jones Gabriel Saez Vinery Stables/Fox Hill Farm 1:15.56
2007 Most Distinguished Nick Zito Rafael Bejarano Live Oak Plantation Racing 1:15.97
2006 Court Folly Ian R. Wilkes Calvin Borel Robert Manfuso 1:16.14
2005 Santana Strings Steven M. Asmussen Eibar Coa Millennium Farms 1:10.18
2004 Bwana Charlie Steven M. Asmussen Shane Sellers Heiligbrodt Racing Stable 1:09.40
2003 Zavata Patrick L. Biancone Jerry D. Bailey Michael B. Tabor 1:08.64
2002 Listen Here William I. Mott Pat Day Nardelli & Lakin 1:09.58
2001 City Zip Linda L. Rice Jorge Chavez Charles Thompson 1:11.03
2000 Personal First David E. Paulus Pat Day D. Waldron, et al. 1:09.33
1999 Successful Appeal John C. Kimmel Edgar Prado Starview Stable 1:10.20
Click here for more Amsterdam Stakes Winners