Oak Tree @ Santa Anita
285 W Huntington Drive
Arcadia, California, 91007


Date: October 25, 08
Post: 12 p.m. ET
Purse: 5,000,000
Grade: 1
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/4 Miles
Age: Three Year Olds and Up
Sex: both
Turf: dirt

Breeders' Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge is due to be held on Monday, 25th October 2008 at a distance of ten furlongs on the dirt track of Santa Anita Park Racetrack. This grade I stake is open to thoroughbred horses with age three-year-olds and up. The Breedersâ Cup Classic is regarded as one of the premier thoroughbred horse racing events in the United Statesâ racing circuit. In many occasions, the winner has been honored the title of the âUnited States Horse of the Yearâ. High-breed horses across the country come to take part in this prestigious event â people wait yearlong to feast the fun and excitement. The game is too competitive to predict; even the underdogs can snatch the winning title â victory of Arcangues in 1993 will tell you the story! This racing event was inaugurated in 1984 to promote thoroughbred horseracing and to unite the industry itself. Every year, the Breedersâ Cup World Championship takes place in various racetracks in North America on a rotation basis. Last year, it was in Monmouth Park while the race is due to be held at Santa Anita Park racetrack this year.

Breeders Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2007 Curlin 3 Steven M. Asmussen Robby Albarado Padua Stables et al 2:00.59
2006 Invasor 4 Kiaran McLaughlin Fernando Jara Shadwell Racing 2:02.18
2005 Saint Liam 5 Richard E. Dutrow Jr. Jerry Bailey Mr & Mrs William K. Warren, Jr. 2:01.49
2004 Ghostzapper 4 Robert J. Frankel Javier Castellano Stronach Stables 1:59.02
2003 Pleasantly Perfect 5 Richard Mandella Alex Solis Diamond A Racing Corp. 1:59.88
2002 Volponi 4 Phillip G. Johnson Jose Santos Amherst & Spruce Pond Stables 2:01.39
2001 Tiznow 4 Jay Robbins Chris McCarron Cee's Stables 2:00.62
2000 Tiznow 3 Jay Robbins Chris McCarron Cooper & Straub-Rubens 2:00.75
1999 Cat Thief 3 D. Wayne Lukas Pat Day Overbrook Farm 1:59.52
1998 Awesome Again 4 Patrick B. Byrne Pat Day Stronach Stables 2:02.16
Click here for more Breeders Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge Winners
Breeders Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge Video

Breeders Cup Classic 2008 - Ravens Pass Wins|Curlin Only 4th

Breeders Cup Classic 2006 - Invasor
Click here for more Breeders Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge Video