Oaklawn Park
P.O. Box 699 2705 Central Avenue
Hot Springs, Arkansas, 71902


Date: March 14, 15
Purse: $600,000
Grade: II
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 8.5 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Sex: Both
Turf: Dirt

Rebel Stakes is a Grade2 horse racing event that is organized at Oaklawn Park. It has a purse value of $600,000. Horses that can cover a distance of 8.5 furlongs may participate in the race. The Rebel Stakes is a thoroughbred horseracing event and is run at a distance of eight and a half furlongs on the dirt track of Oaklawn Park Racetrack in Hot Springs, Arkansas. At present, it offers a purse of $300,000 and is considered as the second leg of the Oaklawn three-year-old program â the first being the Southwest Stakes and the third the Arkansas Derby. The Rebel Stakes was inaugurated as a Handicap race and is now considered as one of the preparatory races of the United Statesâ Triple Crown series. On November 28th, 2007 American graded stakes committee upgraded this horseracing event to a grade II. Win Willy is the proud winner of 2009.

Rebel Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2012 Secret Circle Bob Baffert Rafael Bejarano Watson/Pegram/Weitman 1:44.55
2011 The Factor Bob Baffert Martin Garcia Fog City Stable & G. Bolton 1:42.19
2010 Lookin at Lucky Bob Baffert Garrett Gomez Mike Pegram/Watson/Weitman 1:43.06
2009 Win Willy McLean Robertson Cliff Berry Jer-Mar Stable LLC 1:44.41
2008 Sierra Sunset Jeff Bonde Chris Emigh Lebherz/Mariani/Schmitt/Wirth 1:43.88
2007 Curlin Steve Asmussen Robby Albarado Padua Stables et al. 1:44.70
2006 Lawyer Ron Robert E. Holthus John McKee James T. Hines, Jr. 1:44.09
2005 Greater Good Robert E. Holthus John McKee Lewis Lakin 1:44.92
2004 Smarty Jones John Servis Stewart Elliott Roy & Patricia Chapman 1:42.07
2003 Crowned King Billy McKeever Chandra Rennie McKeever Racing Stable 1:44.00
Click here for more Rebel Stakes Winners
Rebel Stakes Video


2009 Rebel Stakes - Win Willy

2009 Rebel Stakes - Win Willy
Click here for more Rebel Stakes Video