Del Mar
2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd
Del Mar, California, 92014


Date: July 30, 11
Purse: $300,000
Grade: II
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 1 1/16 Miles
Age: 3 Years Old & Up
Sex: fillies
Turf: Dirt

The San Diego Handicap is a thoroughbred horseracing event that is run annually at a distance of one and one sixteenth miles on the dirt track of Del Mar Racetrack in Del Mar. This grade II horseracing event is open to horses with age three and up and carries a purse of $300,000. Native Driver has won this horseracing event thrice: 1964, 1965 and 1966.

San Diego Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Tres Borrachos 6 Martin F. Jones Rafael Bejarano George Hicker 1:42.71
2010 Dakota Phone 5 Jerry Hollendorfer Joel Rosario Hollendorfer/Todaro/Carver/Halo Farms 1:43.55
2009 Informed 5 Douglas F. O'Neill Tyler Baze Trust 1:41.91
2008 Well Armed 5 Eoin G. Harty Aaron Gryder WinStar Farm 1:41.57
2007 Sun Boat 5 Mike R. Mitchell Michael Baze Bongo Racing Stable 1:45.39
2006 Giacomo 4 John Shirreffs Mike E. Smith Ann & Jerry Moss 1:42.15
2005 Choctaw Nation 5 Jeff Mullins Victor Espinoza Robert D. Bone 1:42.40
2004 Choctaw Nation 4 Jeff Mullins Victor Espinoza Robert D. Bone 1:42.32
2003 Taste Of Paradise 4 John W. Sadler Victor Espinoza Abrahams & Bloom 1:42.62
2002 Grey Memo 5 Warren Stute Eddie Delahoussaye Manzani, Ridgeley Farm 1:43.48
Click here for more San Diego Handicap Winners
San Diego Handicap Video

2008 San Diego Handicap