Oak Tree @ Santa Anita
285 W Huntington Drive
Arcadia, California, 91007


Date: March 07, 15
Purse: $300,000
Grade: II
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 8.5 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Sex: Both
Turf: Dirt

The San Felipe Stakes is normally held in mid-March at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. This Grade II race is an American thoroughbred horseracing event and is run each year at a distance of eight and a half furlongs on the left-handed dirt track of Santa Anita Park racetrack. The stakes currently carries $300,000 and is officially listed as a preparation race for the first leg of the American Triple Crown â Kentucky Derby. The race was inaugurated as the San Felipe Handicap in 1935 but due to the World War II there was no race between 1942 and 1945. Since the inauguration of this race, the distance for the race has changed for a couple of times â between the years 1938-1940 and 1945-1946 the distance was six furlongs; in 1937, 1941 and between 1947 and 1951 that race started running at a distance of seven furlongs. Since 1952, the race has been running at a distance of one and one sixteenth miles. In 1968 and 1970, the San Felipe Stakes was run in two divisions. In 2009, Pioneer of the Nile clinched the title.

San Felipe Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2012 Creative Cause Mike Harrington Joel Rosario Heinz Steinmann 1:41.84
2011 Premier Pegasus Myung Kwon Cho Alonso Quinonez Myung Kwon Cho 1:41.23
2010 Sidneys Candy John W. Sadler Joe Talamo Sid & Jenny Craig Trust 1:42.30
2009 Pioneer of the Nile Bob Baffert Garrett Gomez Zayat Stables 1:43.35
2008 Georgie Boy Kathy Walsh Michael Baze George Schwary 1:42.35
2007 Cobalt Blue Doug O\'Neill Victor Espinoza Merv Griffin Ranch 1:42 2/5
2006 A.P. Warrior John Shirreffs Corey Nakatani Stanley E. Fulton 1:42.40
2005 Consolidator D. Wayne Lukas Rafael Bejarano Robert & Beverly Lewis 1:40.11
2004 Preachinatthebar Bob Baffert Javier Santiago Michael E. Pegram 1:42.87
2003 Buddy Gil Jeff Mullins Gary L. Stevens Desperado Stables et al 1:43.64
Click here for more San Felipe Stakes Winners
San Felipe Stakes Video

Pioneerof The Nile - 2009 San Felipe Stakes