Delaware Park
777 Delaware Park Blvd.
Wilmington, Delaware, 19804


Date: July 16, 11
Purse: $1,000,000
Grade: III
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 10 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds & Up
Sex: Fillies
Turf: Dirt

The Delaware Handicap is a popular thoroughbred horseracing event that is run at a distance of ten furlongs on the left-handed dirt track of Delaware Park Racetrack. This Grade II horseracing event is open to fillies and mares with an age three and up. At present, this horseracing event offers a purse of $1,000,000 and is a part of the Breedersâ Cup Challenge series.

Delaware Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Blind Luck 4 Jerry Hollendorfer Garrett Gomez DeDomenico/Carver/Abruzzo/Hollendorfer 2:01.28
2010 Life At Ten 5 Todd Pletcher Johnny Velazquez Candy DeBartolo 2:03.21
2009 Swift Temper 5 Dale L. Romans Alan Garcia Mark H. Stanley 2:03.41
2008 Hystericalady 5 Jerry Hollendorfer Garrett Gomez Rancho San Miguel et al. 2:02.37
2007 Unbridled Belle 4 Todd A. Pletcher Ramon Dominguez Team Valor Stables LLC 2:01.16
2006 Fleet Indian 5 Todd A. Pletcher Jose A. Santos Paul H. Saylor 2:02.08
2005 Island Sand 4 J. Larry Jones Jerry D. Bailey B. A. Man Stable 2:02.89
2004 Summer Wind Dancer 4 Jeff Mullins Victor Espinoza R & Y Wira, L. Vetter 2:03.63
2003 Wild Spirit 4 Robert J. Frankel Jerry D. Bailey Sumaya Us Stables 2:02.95
2002 Summer Colony 4 Mark A. Hennig John R. Velazquez Edward P. Evans 2:04.52
Click here for more Delaware Handicap Winners
Delaware Handicap Video

2008 Delaware Handicap