Fair Grounds Race Course
1751 Gentilly Blvd.
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70119


Date: January 17, 15
Purse: $200,000
Grade: III
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 1 Mile 70 Yards
Age: 3 Year Olds
Turf: Dirt

The Lecomte Stakes is a grade III horse racing event that is run each year at a distance of one mile on the dirt track of Fair Ground Race Course, Louisiana. This race is open to thoroughbred horses with an age group three years. The race was canceled in 2006 due to Hurricane Katrina. Friesan Fire posted win in 2009, Z Fortune in 2008, Storm Surge in 2007, Fire Slam in 2004, Saintly Look in 2003 and Noble Ruler in 2000.

Lecomte Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Wilkinson Neil J. Howard Garrett K. Gomez Gaillardia Racing LLC 1:40.97
2010 Ron the Greek Thomas M. Amoss James Graham Jack T. Hammer 1:40.09
2009 Friesan Fire J. Larry Jones Gabriel Saez Fox Hill Farms/Vinery 1:37.67
2008 Z Fortune Shaun Bridgmohan 1:37.79
2007 Hard Spun 1:37.87
2006 No Race
2005 Storm Surge 1:39.34
2004 Fire Slam 1:38.48
2003 Saintly Look 1:37.62
2002 Easyfromthegitgo 1:37 4/5
Click here for more Lecomte Stakes Winners
Lecomte Stakes Video

2008 LeComte Stakes - Z Fortune