Tampa Bay Downs
11225 Racetrack Road
Tampa, Florida, 33626


Date: March 07, 15
Purse: $350,000
Grade: III
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 8.5 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Sex: Both
Turf: Dirt

Tampa Bay Derby has gained wide popularity over the past few years. Horsemen use this thoroughbred-racing meet as the preparatory ground for the Kentucky Derby. Tampa Bay Downs organizes this grade III racing meet generally in March for three year olds willing to run eight and a half furlongs on the dirt track. Street Sense clinched the Tampa Bay Derby posting a record time of 1:43.11 by .02 seconds. Deputy Glitters won the title in 2006 while Sun King got it in 2005. Limehouse won the 2004 title and Region of Merit won it in 2003. Musket Man won the 2009 title.

Tampa Bay Derby Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2012 Prospective Mark Casse Luis Contreras John Oxley 1:43.35
2011 Watch Me Go Kathleen O'Connell Luis Garcia Gilbert G. Campbell 1:44.25
2010 Odysseus Thomas Albertrani Rajiv Maragh Padua Stables 1:44.31
2009 Musket Man Derek Ryan Daniel Centeno Eric Fein/Vic Carlson 1:43.67
2008 Big Truck Barclay Tagg Eibar Coa Eric Fein 1:44.25
2007 Street Sense Carl Nafzger Calvin Borel James B. Tafel 1:43.11
2006 Deputy Glitters Tom Albertrani Jose Lezcano Joseph Lacombe Stable 1:44.26
2005 Sun King Nick Zito Edgar Prado Tracy Farmer 1:43.98
2004 Limehouse Todd A. Pletcher Pat Day Dogwood Stable 1:43.99
2003 Region of Merit Christophe Clement Eibar Coa Calumet Farm 1:44.61
Click here for more Tampa Bay Derby Winners
Tampa Bay Derby Video

2009 Tampa Bay Derby - Musket Man