Belmont Park
2150 Hempstead Turnpike
Elmont, New York, 11003


Date: June 11, 16
Purse: $1,000,000
Grade: I
Type: T
Distance: 12 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Sex: Both
Turf: Dirt

The Belmont Stakes is an American thoroughbred horse racing event that is run each year covering a distance of twelve furlongs on the left handed dirt track of Belmont Park Racetrack. This grade I stakes is open to three year old horses. The Belmont stakes is widely known as the âRun for the Carnationsâ â a white blanket of carnations is draped over the winnerâs neck. The post parade song was âSidewalks of New Yorkâ till 1996 and from the next year the custom changed a little bit. The audience was invited to sing the Theme from New York and the tradition reflects the signing of two other songs at two Triple Crown races â My Old Kentucky Home at the Kentucky Derby and My Maryland at the Preakness Stakes. Jerome Park Racetrack in The Bronx used to organize the Belmont Stakes during the initial years. Built in 1866 by stock market speculator Leonard Jerome, the race was financed by August Belmont for whom the Belmont Stakes was named. In due course of years, the race shifted to another spot â Morris Park Racecourse until the May 1905 the grand opening of the new Belmont Park racetrack in Elmont, New York. Between 1911 and 1912, the race was closed as anti-betting legislation was passed in the New York State. The tradition of offering a silver bowl to the winner owner began since 1926. That beautiful silver memento was created by Louis Comfort Tiffany and donated to the organizers by the Belmont family. A slick silver figure of Fenian â winner of the third running of the Belmont Stakes in 1869 â is at the top of the Belmont trophy and the bowl is supported by three horses â Herod, Eclipse and Matchem representing three foundation sires of the thoroughbred world. The Belmont stakes was run at a mile and five furlongs from 1867 to 1873; 1Â mile in 1890, 1891, 1892, 1895, 1904 and 1905; a mile and a furlong in 1893 and 1894; a mile and thee furlongs from 1896 to 1903 and from 1906 to 1925. At present the distance is a mile and half and it came in force in 1926. Belmont Stakes offers a purse of 1,000,000.

Belmont Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2015 American Pharoah Bob Baffert Victor Espinoza Zayat Stables, LLC 2:26.65
2014 Tonalist Christophe Clement Joel Rosario Robert S. Evans 2:28.52
2013 Palace Malice Todd Pletcher Mike E. Smith Dogwood Stable (Cot Campbell) 2:30.70
2012 Union Rags Michael Matz John Velazquez Chadds Ford Stable 2:30.42
2011 Ruler On Ice Kelly J. Breen Jose Valdivia George and Lori Hall 2:30:88
2010 Drosselmeyer William Mott Mike Smith WinStar Farm LLC 2:31.57
2009 Summer Bird Tim Ice Kent Desormeaux Kalarikkal & Vilasini Jayaraman 2.27.54
2008 Da Tara Nick Zito Alan Garcia Robert V. LaPenta 2:29.65
2007 Rags to Riches Todd Pletcher John Velazquez M. Tabor & D. Smith 2:28.74
2006 Jazil Kiaran McLaughlin Fernando Jara Shadwell Farm 2:27.81
Click here for more Belmont Stakes Winners
Belmont Stakes Video

HERE IT IS: Belmont Stakes 2008-- Big Brown craps out!

2007 Belmont Stakes - Rags To Riches

Secretariat Triple Crown Winner: Belmont Stakes
Click here for more Belmont Stakes Video